Adult Acne… Ugh

Aren’t I too old for this?

 As I approach the ripe old age of (gulp) thirty, I figured there were certain things I was going to have to start worrying about. Like, for example, whether or not I have to retire my favorite torn jeans and Winnie the Poo pajamas now that I am officially into my adulthood. Or the fact that all of my crabby older aunts are coming up to me at weddings and asking if I’m next. (Seriously, I’m going to start asking them the same thing… at funerals!)

 But there’s one thing I was not expecting to deal with at this stage in my life… acne. Yep, acne. As in pimples, zits, blackheads, the whole deal. Isn’t that a teen thing? And here’s the kicker—I didn’t really have a problem with acne as an adolescent! So how is it that I find myself (a grown woman) freaking out at the bathroom mirror every morning?

 Turns out I’m not alone either—not by a long shot. Acne affects 50% of all women during their adult life. Holy pimple cream, Batgirl! And that’s not all. According to the International Journal of Cosmetic Science,

 “Recent epidemiological studies show that there appears to be an increase in post-adolescent acne, and that the disease is lasting longer and is requiring treatment well into the mid forties.”

So, just what, exactly, is causing this adult acne phenomenon? Is it an atmospheric thing? Something we’re eating? Global warming? And most importantly…

 Now what? I have no intention of being the only grandma at Bingo with acne… but I’m not 100% sure how to deal with it either. And I’m thinking that with half of women everywhere being frustrated right along with me, there have got to be more lost souls out there.

 Anyone else out there dealing with a mid-life acne crisis?

Leave a Reply

