Home Remedies for Adult Acne

Basil. Milk. Vinegar. Tea Leaves. When it comes to home remedies for adult acne, I’ve heard them all. So, when my own face started to break out not long after my 29th birthday, I thought, “why not?”

 After all, home made treatments are affordable (a fraction of the cost of OTC acne creams and lotions) and they don’t have any harsh chemicals that could irritate my already temperamental skin. Between well meaning friends and the World Wide Web, I had a sizeable list of remedies to try. A little too sizeable, actually. As in… if I tried them all, I’d be eligible for senior citizen discounts before I was done.

 So I crossed off the remedies that were just too gross for me to stomach (urine? No Way). Then I ditched any possible ideas that included hard to come-by ingredients (where does one find haemafine syrup or neem extract, anyway?) Finally, I narrowed my list down to only those methods that other people had given good reviews. Whew!

 For the next few weeks, my bathroom sink was a hotbed of activity. I experimented, tested, re-tried. I was surprised, disappointed, and, on occasion, questioned my own sanity.  

 Without further ado, I present to you three home acne remedies that actually help get rid of pimples (and one that you should stay away from!)

 Eye Drops– I know it sounds corny, but Visine really does “get the red out”. I put a few drops on a cotton ball and applied it to a big bad zit that was just starting to rear its ugly head a few times over the course of the night. By the morning… no pimple.

 Lemon Juice and Rose Water– When I read about this one, it made a lot of sense. Lemons are a natural astringent, and roses have antibacterial properties. Mix about 2 tablespoons of each, and apply all over the face for about 15 minutes, then rinse with cool water. (It does sting a little when the lemon juice hits your skin) Use this treatment at night, or else avoid direct sunlight right after putting lemon juice on your skin.

 Oatmeal and Honey– This one sounded so yummy that I couldn’t wait to try it. Cook a single serving of plain oatmeal, just like you would for breakfast. (No flavored packaged varieties please!) Add about ¼ cup of honey, mix thoroughly, and allow to cool for a few minutes. Apply it all over the face, masque style (avoiding the eyes) and leave on for about 10-15 minutes. Any longer and it gets a little tough to take off. I especially like this recipe, because the oatmeal exfoliates and reduces the redness from acne.

Toothpaste– I know a lot of people swear by this old standby, which is why I tried it a few different times, but my verdict is still “don’t do it!” Maybe it’s just me, but it seems like toothpaste actually aggravates my acne. Slather it on at your own risk.

 There you have it… my official list of home remedies. Have you guys tried anything that works? (Or failed miserably?)

Leave a Reply

