Acne 911: 5 Questions to ask Your Dermatologist NOW

Is there a doctor in the house?

 I finally did it—I made an appointment to go see the dermatologist about my adult acne. I’ve always been a little wary about MDs in general, so it didn’t come as a big shock to anyone that knew me that I procrastinated a bit before deciding to go see the doc.

 Not that I’m anti modern medicine or anything like that (I’ll take a couple of good ol’ Tylenol over some boiled willow bark any day, thank you very much). But let’s just say I get a little flustered when it comes to talking to the doctor. Imagine that… me, flustered. So this time, I decided to get my research on long before the big day. That way, armed with a list of questions, I could get the most out of my appointment. (Pretty bright of me, right?)

 Armed with a pen and paper (or, for the seriously tech-savvy among you, a PDA) you too can take advantage of the time I spent hunting down the best questions to approach your dermatologist with. Of course, it’s probably a good idea to do a bit of your own research as well… no two people have the same face, which means that there aren’t any identical cases of acne, either!

 1. What kind of treatment works best for my acne? Maybe you have blackheads. Maybe you have mostly whiteheads with a few angry red bumps. Maybe you don’t know if what you’ve got is rosacea. Regardless, you should talk to your derm about coming up with a plan that works specifically for your type of pimples.

 2. What’s the best way to care for my face? If your skin is dry or sensitive, ask about moisturizers, cleansers, or soaps for your skin type. How often should you exfoliate? Gentlemen… don’t forget to ask about shaving tips.

 3. How long will it take before I see results? This one is especially important for those of us that tend to be a little impatient. Don’t forget to ask about side effects, too.

 4. What’s the best way to prevent scaring? Because once I finally get rid of the darned pimples, I don’t want to have to deal with scars, too!

 5. What’s the best kind of make up to use? Liquid foundations, powders, mineral makeup… with so much to choose from at the cosmetics counter these days, how do I know what isn’t going to trigger an acne flare up?

2 Responses

  1. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds

Leave a Reply

