The War Rages On: Benzoyl Peroxide VS Salicylic Acid

Ok, for those of you who have been following my trials and tribulations, here’s a quick recap: A couple of nights ago, I had a whopper of a stress pimple pop up on my forehead. I ran out to the store in search of some over the counter cure-all that would get rid of it before the end of the weekend (and my big Monday morning meeting). I returned home a few hours later—and quite a few dollars poorer!

 I learned a few things on my field trip. First: There are some, ahem, interesting characters at Wal-Mart at 11pm. (Fuzzy boots, pink tights and a rhinestone jacket… why, people?)

 Second, over the counter acne treatments can basically be categorized into one of two major camps: Benzoyl Peroxide and Salicylic Acid. Both of these two active ingredients claim to be the “best” at drying up and vanishing problem zits. But which one actually works better? And which is the least harsh on traumatized skin?

 I figured there was only one way to find out… I stocked up on both kinds. But I can’t use them both together. Not only would that eliminate any accurate findings on my part one way or the other, but I’m pretty sure it would burn a hole through my face.

 After much scientific debate (Read: eenie meenie miney moe) I figured I’d start with the benzoyl peroxide stuff first. Other late night acne shoppers pointed me in the direction of a few different products, including Clearasil’s StayClear Vanishing Acne Treatment. One woman told me she swears by the stuff, and her skin looked pretty darned clear, so I decided it was as good a place to start as any!

 I’ve been slathering it on a couple of times a day. I must say… there does seem to be some shrinkage, though Mount O-Zit-Pus isn’t completely gone just yet. I’ve got two more days before Monday… let’s see what happens!

Leave a Reply

