4 Cleansers: Real Reviews

A good facial cleanser is an essential first step of any acne regimen. Personally, I’ve had some trouble finding one that I love, so I decided to conduct a little non-clinical, un-scientific, real world study on some popular OTC facial cleansers designed specifically for acne prone skin. Here’s the 411:

After talking to some of my girlfriends (all of whom have or have had adult acne issues of varying degrees) we hit the local Wal-Mart and picked up 4 cleansers. We then took turns trying each one for a week, and compared careful notes at the end of the month long period. Read on to hear our findings. (Oh, and just an FYI- we avoided any super expensive varieties, seeing as though we knew that realistically, we’d never be able to faithfully use a daily cleanser that took a chunk out of our budget)

Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser

This is the cleanser that I tried the first week. I’d heard that Cetaphil is a dermatologist recommended brand, so I figured this was going to “wow” me, but not so much. Not that I hated it, per say… it just didn’t tickle my pickle. It was very watery, and while it had a nice fresh scent, it didn’t leave my face with that super clean feeling I look for in a facial wash. Also, I wear very little makeup- of the powdered mineral variety- and this didn’t wash it all off. I imagine that chicas who wear a thicker foundation or more eye shadow would have trouble getting any of it off with this stuff. It should be noted, though, that while most of my comrades agreed with me, one person with super sensitive skin really liked this one. She said that it was the first cleanser she’d ever tried that didn’t irritate her face.

Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash

I love Neutrogena’s concealers, so I was excited when my second week’s cleanser was by the same maker. With salicylic acid, this face wash is supposed to help heal your breakouts while it washes away the day. And while it did get my face squeaky clean, I found that it dried out my skin. This might be an excellent cleanser for someone with oily skin (in fact, the member of our team with the oiliest skin says that she’s planning on using this cleanser from now on) but if you’ve got dry skin like mine, this one may be a little harsh.

Biore Blemish Fighting Ice Cleanser

At first, I was a little worried about the whole ice/menthol-like/tingly thing that I’d heard about Biore Ice. But after the first use, I was loving it. The tingle isn’t overwhelming, and it left my face feeling super clean and fresh—without drying it out. I also love the lavender in it… very soothing. Might just be my new go-to cleanser!

Olay Warming Deep Purifying Cleanser

I liked the warming sensation of this cleanser, as well as the gentle exfoliation that I felt when applying it to my face. It smelled a little odd, but I figured that was a small price to pay for a good cleanser. But, by the third day, I started to notice some bumps along my hair and jaw lines that weren’t there before. Hmm… sure enough, by the end of my week using this cleanser, I was on my way to a full on breakout. Not sure why, but this so called purifier actually made my skin’s condition worse! And I wasn’t alone… 2 other girls reported the same issue.

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for the review! =)

  2. No Problem! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

