A So Called Cure that STINKS

  I was approached by a friend not too long ago (and at this point, I’m using the term pretty loosely) who told me about an “amazing” home remedy for adult acne: garlic. To say I was skeptical was putting it mildly. But hey, I’m a bright girl, and given the fact that garlic is known for its antiseptic properties, I thought it might be worth a shot. Boy was I wrong. 

 Here’s how this whole thing is supposed to work:

 Take a whole clove of peeled garlic, mash it well, and add a few drops of warm water. Then, take a cotton ball, moisten it with this delightful garlic juice and rub it on your face, concentrating on the areas where you already have pimples or usually tend to break out. Leave the garlicky concoction on for about 10 minutes, and then rinse with warm water.

 I followed the instructions, and my first reaction was… OUCH. The second the garlic water came in contact with my already irritated skin, I noticed a distinct burning sensation. I ended up washing the whole mess off after about 6 minutes. I’m no wimp, but there was no way I was keeping that sulfuric garlic cocktail on my skin for a full 10 minutes.

 I’m actually really glad that I rinsed early, because even after bailing on the experiment, my face was tomato red and kept burning mildly for a good half hour. I think if I had kept the garlic on any longer, I probably would have had a major skin reaction.

 Then there’s the other, equally nasty side effect: the garlic stink. Sure, I knew that rubbing garlic juice on my face would smell bad while I was doing it… but I had no idea just how long that odor would linger! Washing my face didn’t help. Showering didn’t have much of an effect. In fact, even after sleeping all night, I could still smell it when I woke up the next morning.

 And, apparently, I wasn’t the only one. Around mid morning, a coworker who was in my office not so subtly asked if I had brought Italian food with me for lunch. Great. Just another bump on the road to clearer skin, I guess.

 Just curious… have you guys ever tried something for your acne that can be chalked up to an epic fail?

Leave a Reply

