Alphabet Soup

So, thanks in large part to a friend that I hadn’t seen in ages (man, I love Facebook) I’ve been doing my fair share of research on vitamins that might help clear up acne. And while it’s important to note that there is no official scientific connection between increasing your vitamin consumption and having blemish free skin, there are plenty of people who swear by a vita-enhanced approach.

We’ve already gone into the wonders of vitamin A and its magical exfoliating properties. Trying to narrow down the next couple of vitamins to tackle on my quest was not quite as easy as I thought. I mean, seriously… cruise up and down the drug store aisles reading the labels on bottles of skin care products, and you’re liable to think you fell into a bowl of alphabet soup.

But from this Sesame Street paradise of letters and numbers I was able to extract a couple more vitamins that seemingly do wonders for the modern complexion. And so without further ado, today’s post is brought to you by the letter B:

Vitamin B helps you deal with stress and maintain an emotional balance. And since we all know that stress = breakouts, this is a good thing already. More, that powerful little B vitamin also helps maintain healthy eyes, hair and (you guessed it) skin! Many people believe that certain cases of acne are caused by a vitamin B deficiency in the first place.

Now that I know you’re all dying to increase your B intake, I shall tell you where you can get more of it. (Kind of me, yes?)

For starters, you can get VB by eating more potatoes, bananas, turkey, and tuna fish. You can also find various combinations of B vitamin supplements in most grocery and health food stores. But a word to the wise: there is such a thing as too much of a good thing. So before you begin any vitamin regimen, talk to your doctor.

And stay tuned for the final installment in my vitamin information quest: Vitamin E.

Leave a Reply

