A Neem to Know Basis

Ever notice how proponents of natural and herbal remedies seem to go through phases? It’s like the health nuts will go through one fad after another, claiming that this is the real deal.

I live near Los Angeles, so I get to experience the herb of the moment movement every time it gets going. (Remember the whole wheat grass thing? Yeah… I wish I could forget it)

I have a long time friend that was seriously born into the wrong era. I love her to pieces, but this woman belonged in a 1960’s commune, living off of wild berries and organic lettuces. Bless her little vegan heart, she’s always telling me about the benefits of herbal remedies and a meatless diet. (Sorry, darling, but I didn’t claw my way to the top of the food chain for a bowl of cabbage)

Hoodia, Acai Berry extract, melatonin—you name it, she’s tried to get me to love it with the same passion she does. So, when she came to me extolling the virtues of neem soap for acne, I was a little skeptical, to say the least. But the word neem sounded so familiar, I figured it was worth looking up. She wasn’t the first to bring up the subject, so I decided that it was high time to investigate.

As it turns out, neem isn’t a passing fad at all. Extracted from an evergreen tree that grows in India, neem oil has been a staple of ayurvedic medicine for centuries. It can be made into a soap, paste, oil, or extract. Indian herbalists have been using it for skin care (among dozens of other things) for years.

Now there are few things to keep in mind here—neem oil should never be ingested, or applied directly onto the skin. But, from what I hear, a quality neem soap can really boost your skin care regime.

Looks like I’m going shopping. I’ll keep you guys posted!

Leave a Reply

