Acne and Pregnancy– How To Deal

Congratulations to one of my very best friends and coworkers, who is expecting her first bundle of joy!

 Wow… with all of these people around me breeding babies, I think I’m starting to hear the vague ticking of my own biological clock. But I digress… My gal pal just hit the 4 month mark, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen her happier. She is a wonderful person and deserves every moment of joy and discovery.

 However, a couple of weeks ago, her motherly glow turned into massive facial breakouts (Those hormones at work, I suppose…)

 As it turns out, most popular acne treatments aren’t safe for use during pregnancy. So, being the wonderful friend I am, I decided to help her investigate the best way to deal with pregger pimples.

 First and foremost, if you’ve got a bun in the oven, stay AWAY from accutane, tetracycline, and any medication containing female hormones. This is a big no-no, as it can lead to major problems down the road. But there are some tips for (safely) dealing with acne at this delicate time.

 Start by drinking plenty of water. You might not realize it, but if you’re retaining water because of your pregnancy, you might actually be dehydrating your skin cells, which can lead to the production of more sebum, and in turn, breakouts.

 Also, because pregnant women’s hormones are already going crazy, it’s probably a good idea to avoid overly processed foods and junk fare. Keep lots of fresh fruits and veggies on hand for snacking, and go organic whenever possible.

 Mild exercise will also help stimulate blood flow, which can control unwanted break outs, as well.

 Finally, keep your makeup brushes clean and bacteria free—you might just be reinfecting yourself by using something on a clean part of your face after it’s been contaminated.

Leave a Reply

