A Little Love for Chocolate

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: chocolate doesn’t give you acne. It doesn’t aggravate breakouts, it doesn’t clog your pores, it doesn’t bring on zits.

I know this isn’t my first post about how chocolate has gotten a bad wrap, and chances are good that it probably won’t be my last. Nope, I’m going to keep on preaching about the wonders of the cocoa bean until I no longer hear people blaming their bad skin days on my favorite treat.

There has never been any scientific evidence to suggest that any kind of food (including, yes, chocolate) contributes to acne. Now, I know what you’re thinking, and I agree—I personally believe that maintaining a well balanced diet with lots of water and healthy fruits and vegetables is essential to keeping your skin clear. But that’s not to say that having a slice of pizza or a chocolate bar every now and again is going to ruin all of your hard work. Like so many other things, it’s all about moderation.

What’s more, it turns out that chocolate is actually GOOD for your skin. Yes, I said it…

See, chocolate is bursting with antioxidants. As in, about a third of what you need for your whole day in a single serving. And there’s more—chocolate, especially the dark varieties, boosts your serotonin levels. Serotonin is the feel good hormone in your brain that keeps you calm, happy and relaxed.

Seeing as though stress HAS been proven to cause mean breakouts, chocolate can help you keep your mood mellow and your skin glowing. So there you have it: no need to punish yourself by steering clear of the wonders of a Hershey Bar any more.

One Response

  1. A+ would read again

Leave a Reply

