A Dash of Oregano

So who among us hasn’t heard some really “out there” ideas for treating their acne?

There was the lady from my mother’s bridge club who suggested that I use a mix of water and cornstarch as a peel. It didn’t work out so well, if you are wondering. I wound up with a terrible rash on my face for the better part of a week and ultimately found my way to the doctor’s office.

Then there was the time my friend Becky thought that maple syrup would make for the perfect solution. She reasoned that the sugar in the syrup would crystalize on my skin and keep my pores from secreeting oil. It seemed like a really good idea right up until I pointed out that it would block my pores and cause a massive breakout. Becky and I don’t talk much these days. I wonder why?

So you can imagine my reaction when I heard that there was an actual application for oregano oil in the treatment of acne. No, I’m not talking about sprinkling your face with the stuff in the packets at your local pizza joint. There are apparently two ingredients (Carvacrol and Thymol) that make it ridiculously good for your skin. So where does one find this latest and greatest acne treatment?

You’ll want to take a trip to your local health food store and pick up some Wild Oil of Oregano. There are various types of the oil out there, but all research points to the wild stuff as the best for destroying bacteria.

Drop two drops of the oil into a small bottled container and mix it with approximately 8 ounces of water. Once you have done this wash your face with the mixture. You’ll want to do this at least a couple of times a day. Do not rinse your face afterward.

You can apply the solution to your face on just the affected areas if your acne doesn’t cover your entire facial area. In this case use a cotton ball and dab the mixture on the areas where your acne appears.

As with everything you try to combat your acne, consult your doctor before beginning any new treatments.

Ok folks, has anyone tried this? If so, how’d it work out for you?

One Response

  1. Best acne produc reviews.
    For a better feeling. No more acne.

Leave a Reply

