To Tone or Not to Tone?

Like most women, my face takes a bit of a beating on most days. If it’s not makeup, its stress, or the weather, or the office air conditioner… well, you get the idea. I do my best to keep my skin looking as fresh as I can, but let’s face it—it’s not always easy. Last week at lunch, one of my girlfriends asked me what type of toner I used. I had to do a bit of a mental tap dance because I had no idea what she was talking about.

I did my best to look like the smart girl I am and said I usually use “HP toners”, unless the office store is out of them. My girlfriend about fell out of her chair laughing at me. As she pulled herself back into an upright position, she looked at me and said, “Skin toner girl, not printer toner!”.

OH! Well, I don’t. I mean… it’s not really necessary, is it?

And so my googling began.

Apparently there is a toner made for just about every skin type. (Who knew?) All of them are designed to do much the same things: cleanse your skin and shrink your pores, helping you to battle acne in the process.

Skin bracers are toners that help keep the moisture in your skin near the surface. Keeping your skin moist is one of the key elements of healthy looking skin. The most common example of a skin bracer is rosewater. Skin bracers are generally also free of alcohol. If you have dry, normal, or sensitive skin grab the rosewater and your skin will thank you.

Astringents and the most powerful and potent of the skin toners. They contain high levels of alcohol, antiseptic and water. If you suffer from oily skin this is the toner that can help you. You’ll want to be extra careful and not use them too much or for too long. Since they’ll dry up a lot of the oils on your skin they run the risk of drying too much of those oils and forcing your pores to create more oil to compensate the loss.

Skin tonics are a little bit stronger than skin bracers and not quite as strong as astringents. Best use of skin tonics are on people with normal, combination or with oily skin.

So there we have it. Now… should I go for it or not?

Leave a Reply

