I Need My SPF

I almost forgot one very important item on my New Year’s Resolution list . . .

Wear sunscreen every day!

This is another really easy, but very important thing that I’ve been neglecting when it comes to taking care of my skin. Sometimes it’s hard before I leave the house, early in the morning, to remember to put on sunscreen. After all, the sun is barely waking up and it is January. Winter doesn’t exactly feel like sunscreen weather. But I know that there are a couple really good reasons to remember to wear my trusty SPF 30 each and every, sunny or non-sunny day.

Reason #1 – I’d rather not have skin cancer.

Obviously. We all need a little sunshine, but the fact is, too much exposure to the sun can cause skin cancer. The sun’s ultraviolet rays can not only give you a sunburn, but they can also penetrate deep into your skin and interfere with your body’s ability to fight the spread of those evil little cancer cells.

Reason #2 – I’d rather not look any older than I have to.

I already have adult acne. I don’t want to have wrinkles too!  Too much sun means older looking skin. I’m pretty sure my skin will look old enough at some point. No reason to help Father Time. Excess sun will, over time, make your skin look think, leathery and wrinkled. Yuck!

If looking old and possibly getting cancer aren’t enough to convince me, I also found out that overexposure to the sun can also cause age spots, problems with immune system, actinic keratosis, which are growths on the skin caused by the sun (ew, gross!), and even cataracts.

Despite what some people think, your skin is exposed to the sun all of the time – when you’re driving a car, walking across the street to lunch, waiting to pick up your kids from basketball practice. I read that, for this reason, the American Academy of Dermatology recommends wearing sunscreen with an SPF of 30 every day.  

One easy way to remember your sunscreen is to buy a moisturizer that contains sunscreen in it. I picked one up today. Presto! Two resolutions taken care of in one bottle! This year is going pretty well so far.

Leave a Reply

