Bummed About BACNE

So, it’s been a few days since my last post, I think I got sucked into a crazy wedding-planning vortex. The months are ticking by and there are more types of orchids than any one person should know about. I’ve also been working out like a fiend! I’m seeing some pretty killer results–my lovies (love handles) are slowly melting off and my arms are toning–thanks Sven!

BUT, there’s a tiny problem…I’ve constantly been on the go. I haven’t been sleeping a whole lot and this stress has taken a toll on my skin. I have BACNE! Ahhh! NO! How do I try on dresses if my back is broken out like this?!

My back pimples seem like they’re harder to ditch than the pimples on my face. I’m thinking that’s because I don’t have the greatest view of my own back, or maybe it’s because I don’t have freakishly long arms.  Most of my back blemishes are mild, but some are pretty deep, but they’re all really red and angry-looking. But seriously, if your bacne is cystic or nodule, you could run into scarring. (When your bacne is bad like that, you definitely need a dermatologist.)

Since my back breakouts are relatively mild, I had to double-check my body wash situation.The over the counter body wash that I wanted had to contain Salicylic Acid, at least 2%. If, after a few weeks, it’s not clearing up, I could upgrade to a body cleanser with Benzoyl Peroxide, a stronger alternative to Salicylic Acid.

When it comes to scrubbing your skin, I’m kind of public enemy #1. I have to constantly remind myself to leave some skin afterwards! If you are an over-scrubber like me, ease up! Calm down. Too much will aggravate those lil zits.

Ok, I changed my soap, I quit sandblasting my skin…anything else? Yeah, tight clothing can cause more flare ups. But what’s all this exercise for if I can’t wear a sexy, tight lil number? OK, sacrifice…I get it–out goes my etc.

Leave a Reply

