Uhm…WHAT is that?

The weather out here has been awesome! Sunshine–summer is definitely on its way. I have been staying out of the sun on purpose, I like to save my skin when I can. Well, as my skin starts to lose its tan, I have just noticed this little spot, no bigger than a pencil eraser. It isn’t brown, more like a dark tan spot. Uhm…what…is this?

A little research has turned up some info. Apparently it’s a liver spot. Yeah. A patch like this is officially called ” solar lentigenes, hyperpigmentation, or less formally, sun spots”. I guess all that sun in my early teens is catching up with me! My skin is on the mocha side, but, still, it is noticeable when I’m not fully tan.

As far as “treating” it, if you have a sun spot, it is always smart to hit up a doctor first. This way, you get the “all clear” that it isn’t something serious. Skin cancer is a real thing–be sure that you’re ok. BUT, if you’re dealing with the minor league sun spots, you have some options.

Look for some treatments that include the Kojic acid which is a by-product of the fermentation process of Japanese sake. It has shown some improvement in fading the skin because it inhibits tyrosinase. (Tyrosinase is a copper-containing enzyme that occurs in plant and animal tissues, it aids in the production of melanin.) In addition, you can look for products with Azelaic acid, derived from grains such as wheat and rye, also shows promise in terms of fading hyperpigmentation.

Ironically–the best way to treat sun spots is to–get this–not develop them. Thanks guys. THANKS. Great idea. I am going to bathe in sunscreen. I will drink it if I have to…NO MORE SUN SPOTS in ’11!

Leave a Reply

