Anti Acne Foods

I told you guys that I’ve been researching the best foods to help out my skin, right? Well. I hit the jackpot. I spoke with my derm, who wasn’t the most helpful. BUT, while I was waiting for my appt, I spoke with an esthetician in the waiting room.

Here’s the deal. There ARE foods that will help out your acne, and they’ll also help out your waistline.

First: something called Bilberries. Right, I said bilberries; deep blue berries are one of the best sources of antioxidants, which reduce inflammation, one of the main causes of acne.

Nuts. Nuts are a rich plant-based source of omega-3 fatty acids, which are said to reduce inflammation. There isn’t a ton of info, but, those omega-3s may diminish inflammation around the sebaceous glands—which means the pink part around your pimple could shrink down.

Fish (not my favorite) but fish oil’s ability to fight inflammation is why it has been so impressive in decreasing the risk of coronary artery disease.

Here are the Don’ts.

Milk–this is mostly because of the hormones. Those hormones are said to stimulate oil glands, which can lead to pimples. Whole, low-fat and skim versions were all guilty, so were cottage and cream cheeses. Even if it is labeled “free of growth hormones” it will still contain some of those cow hormones.

Simple carbs are bad news. The worst offenders are the starchy ones such as white bread, potatoes and potato chips, all of which have a high glycemic index; which will spike your blood sugar levels after eating. (Also bad news if you’re watching your fat.) That takes us to avoiding sugary snacks and drinks.

Last but not least: spicy foods are a no-no, especially if you are suffering from rosacea. Rosacea will flare up because of those spices.

 

Ok. I’m cutting these out–I will tell you how it works!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

