Pine Tar Soap…What the what?

Is it for you? In my mad dash to the drug store for some acne quick fixes. Let me say this–there are gadgets and lotions for any and everything. It is amazing. My head was spinning as I was standing in that aisle.

What I did notice was that everything is packaged for a doll–the pinks and oranges are everywhere and it all seems sort of elementary. What did catch my eye was a little silver box, with “olde” style writing–Pine Tar Soap. Interesting. I wandered the aisles as I researched Pine Tar Soap on my phone.

Apparently this type of soap was used for everything from ship-building to animal husbandry (you don’t want to know) because of the antimicrobial properties. Pine Tar is ideal for lots of different skin issues likeĀ psoriasis–it actually slows your body from building up the skin cells that form the scaly area.

However, it was the anti-inflammatory and skin-soothing attributes that really made me notice. Those properties make pine tar soap ideal for the treatment of eczema, hives, acne, insect bites, dandruff, contact dermatitis and seborrhea. It also helps dry out blistery rashes such as poison ivy, poison oak and poison sumac. Because of that, I thought it may be awesome for the acne flare ups on my back and chest.

Here is the downside–it smells awful. I mean…ghoulishly bad. I actually bought it today anyway, I will let you know how it goes. toodles

Leave a Reply

