Is Cold Water Best?

I was speaking with a client yesterday, she is in her late fifties and she looks like she is in her mid thirties. (Seriously, she looks beyond amazing.) We got to chatting and she told me that she only showers in cold water. Yeah. COLD showers, cold water to wash her face, the whole nine yards.

Interesting. I have been doing some research, trying to believe that she is just a freak of nature. The secret of youthful, glowing, clear skin and shiny hair is NOT cold water. Because if it is–I will need a refund. For the past 15 years of allegiance to the health/beauty industry.

Here’s the concept, you know that warm/hot water pulls circulation/blood to your skin. Well, cold water pulls circulation to your organs. The Japanese culture has been using cold water as medicine for hundreds of years. While the Japanese swear that you can cure your acne problems with cold water, I am not ready to comply completely…

Here is a great way to compromise–switch back and forth. OPEN those pores first and wash as you normally do. Then, do your cold water for the rest of your shower time. THAT I can do…and I can even get behind the science. The cold water will also close up those pores so they are impervious to further infection and oil.

One more reason to shower with cold water: the cold makes your blood vessels constrict–reducing swelling. This will also help decrease the appearance of dark circles under your eyes.

Clearly, ending your bathroom time with a cold shower is not a terrible idea…I am interested in a pink, youthful glow and it seems that cold water can make this happen. However, the colder weather is coming and bathing like I’m in a Turkish prison is nothing I am looking forward to. BUT, I will say that I would like to know that I’m doing my part to improve my circulation. Cold water has been rumored to ease the appearance of varicose veins. Circulation is crucial for hypertension and to help deter the hardening of the arteries.

Cold water will help with cleansing as well, it encourages the blood to the contracted muscles, encouraging the release of toxins. Also, cold water is rumored to help with to strengthen the mucous membranes, which can help to resist hay fever, allergies, colds, coughs.

I can do the cold water thing…

I will let you know how it goes.

toodles

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

