Breaking Up

I broke up with my boyfriend today. Though we had only been dating for a few months, it felt rather intense. We got a puppy together. We had moved in together. Now I am going home to split up my earthly remains with a man who I thought I was going to be with forever.

My eyes are shredded. Unfortunately our break up happened through a series of texts and then graduated to chat. (Hey, its 2012, this is how our generation communicates and connects.) I am devastated. But the break up is by my own hand. I changed the rules. I always went into relationships thinking that I would never get married, that I didn’t need to have kids. He was all for it, now I feel totally different. I want both of those things.

My heart is broken, but my head says it is the right thing to do. I am not looking forward to going  home. At all. Not because my stuff will be strewn about the front yard, but because it was a semi-amicable split. My eyes are shredded and red, my skin is blotchy and dry. The stress from a long day and just a few hours of sleep has wreaked havoc on my face.

The only solace I have is that it happened now and not six years from now…?

Send a hug.

 

And some calming moisturizer.

Leave a Reply

